Nobel Prize winners

A world-leading reputation for research excellence

Recipients of Nobel Prizes for Chemistry and Physics amongst our former and current staff and students include;

Nobel laureateArea of researchPrize awarded:Date
JJ Thomson Physics in recognition of his theoretical and experimental investigations on the conduction of electricity by gases. 1906
Ernest Rutherford Chemistry for his investigations into the disintegration of the elements and the chemistry of radioactive substances. 1908
William Lawrence Bragg Physics for his services in the analysis of crystal structure by means of X-rays. 1915
Niels Bohr Physics for his fundamental contributions to understanding atomic structure and quantum mechanics. 1922
CTR Wilson Physics for his method of making the paths of electrically charged particles visible by condensation of vapour. 1927
Arthur Harden Chemistry for investigations on the fermentation of sugar and fermentative enzymes. 1929
James Chadwick Physics for the discovery of the neutron. 1935
Walter Norman Haworth Chemistry for his investigations on carbohydrates and vitamin C. 1937
George de Hevesy Chemistry for his work on the use of isotopes as tracers in the study of chemical processes. 1943
Robert Robinson Chemistry for his investigations on plant products of biological importance, especially the alkaloids. 1947
Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett Physics for developing cloud chamber and confirming/discovering positron. 1948
John Cockcroft Physics for his pioneer work on the splitting of atomic nuclei by artificially accelerated atomic particles and also for his contribution to modern nuclear power. 1951
Linus Carl Pauling Chemistry for his research into the nature of the chemical bond and its application to the elucidation of the structure of complex substances 1954
Alexander Todd Chemistry for his work on nucleotides and nucleotide co-enzymes. 1957
Melvin Calvin Chemistry for his research on the carbon dioxide assimilation in plants. 1961
Hans Bethe Physics for his contributions to the theory of nuclear reactions, especially his discoveries concerning the energy production in stars. 1967
Nevill Francis Mott Physics for his fundamental theoretical investigations of the electronic structure of magnetic and disordered systems. 1977
John Charles Polanyi Chemistry for his contributions concerning the dynamics of chemical elementary processes. 1986
Michael Smith Chemistry for his fundamental contributions to the establishment of oligonucleotide-based, site-directed mutagenesis and its development for protein studies. 1993
Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov Physics for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene. 2010
▲ Up to the top